Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Carrie, I'm glad you like this idea and that you will use it with your students. Good luck!

I really like this approach, thanks for sharing it!

I like the idea of UTube because there are many useful videos for nursing courses I teach, however the chat system in the school where I teach does not have the technology to use these video clips.

I am a hands on teacher, I like to apply real world experiences to teaching. I teach practicing RNs that are going on for their BSN so it is important to gear the teaching to higher level thinking.

Dr Jill, you can assign the clips on YouTube for course work like homework, so it does not have to be supported by the technology system of your school. Thanks for your thoughts.

I agree it is important to gear your teaching to the audience of learners you have. RN to BSN learners generally have much clinical knowledge but may not be as familiar with management, leadership and advanced nursing practice, so you are smart to look for ways to invite higher thinking from them.

I am a new nursing instructor. The suggestion on critical think will be very helpful as I try to teach my students.

Mindi, we were all new once, and over time we find teaching strategies that work. The weakest think is a good way to assess, develop and evaluate critical thinking.

I found all of the ideas mentioned interesting to implement.The wheel to find supplies would be most helpful for my particular group of students who will be in clinical sites in various hospitals. I will definitely use this to make them aware of safety equiptment locations as well as difficult intubation and crash cart locations and supplies. It would also be helpful for locating MSDS information books. I find it challenging to teach students on the hospital environment when they are not familiar with it and this will definitely help them to know where to look, as well as, what they should be looking for.