Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Professional Organizations

Do you currently belong to any professional organizations related to your field of study or education in general? What benefits are there to belonging to the organization you are affiliated with?

I belong to the American Physical Therapy Association. Accompanying my membership to this organization, I belong to the Education section of the APTA. The advantages to belonging to the APTA are numerous:

1. Access to published journals.
2. Discounts on continuing education courses.
3. Networking.
4. Practice resources.

I am a member of a professional organization, that helps a lot in getting updated and we can get many resources at a low cost.

Roberto,

Discounts on products and services are a great perk of belonging to professional organizations. Taking advantage of workshops and conventions are just the tip of the iceberg. Often times discounts from select vendors that items that are trade-specific and professional development opportunities through Adobe.com or Lynda.com are included as well.

Theresa Schmitt

Irwin,

A great association to belong to! Staying abreast of advancements is key in your field and maintaining this membership is a great way to access publications. The APTA is a proponent of delivering information via social media tools, a fast and effective means of disseminating information.

Wishing you continued success in the classroom.

Theresa Schmitt

I enjoy going to workshops or seminars, related to my subject. Listening to new ideas and teaching techniques are always good.

Yes, I belong to a couple of professional organizations. They are related to my area of practice. I have found that I am able to maintain a professional network and have also been able to create opportunities for my students to benefit: