Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I do belong to an organization related to my field. The organization provides you with new and updated research in the field. I also work in the field that I teach, and am continuously using the knowledge I gain there to implement in the classroom. Keeping updated on new techniques and information is essential in teaching in a tech program like the one I teach.

Yes I do. It keeps me up to date of all the new teaching strategies for math and what new materials are available for use in the classroom. It gives you ways to teach students with real word and relevancy in

I am an IGDA member, which has provided excellent networking and education opportunities. I encourage my students to enroll in organizations to gain access to these advantages as well.

I belong to several groups in my field on LinkedIn. I review the articles that my colleagues post which allows me to stay abreast of the latest trends.

Yes! I belong to two. I enjoy 1) the updates on what is happening (legislatively) in our professional organization; 2) updates/theories on pedagogy in the classroom, especially as it relates to varying student populations; 3) innovative lesson plans which are included with each journal; and 4) opportunities to collaborate with my peers.

I agree. I, too, am nationally board certified and would love to attend the wonderful workshops offered at their annual meetings. However, they are cost prohibitive when considering not only the fees to attend, but also the cost of transportation and lodging. They ARE tax-deductible, which I suppose helps a bit, but not much when I have to front the full funds.

Professional organizations are very important to getting a foot in the door of a preferred organization you would like to work for. I encourage students to join professional organizations early in their academic programs because thy create great networking opportunities.