Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

When dealing with a stressful situation, I take a deep breath and shift my mind into neutral. I like to imagine myself riding my dirtbike in the woods.

My method of late has been writing, I find that writing stories relax my mind and remove me from the problems that are around me. While I don't think I'm a publishable author, I'm relaxed after exercising my mind with other thoughts that are more pleasant to deal with.

Phillip, Sounds like a wonderful outlet. Also, you just never know about the possibility of publication in the future. Often times, we are our biggest critics. Perhaps you could have a few others read your work and see what kind of feedback they have.

Dr. Melissa Read

Depending on if the stress is personal or work related, I will talk to friends, family, colleagues to help cope with the stressors i cannot eliminate or reduce.
I find listening to my favorite music helps me cope with stress of any type at any time - I am taken to a different place altogether!

Craig, Sounds like you have some great coping mechanisms in your back pocket. Wonderful to hear. I like the way the mechanism you choose depend on the kind of stress you experience. This is a great strategy because different outlets work for different stressors.

Dr. Melissa Read

I think every person knows his abilities and expertise better than anyone else. Thus we need to develop time management schedule as per our abilities and then stick to it. You cannot control how efficient people/ team works around you, but you definitely understand your pace and capabilities. Planning ahead and completing your assigned task to the best of your capabilities should be the measuring and guiding parameter. I personally think that it’s not success but the burning desire/ wish to be successful that really matters as it keeps you on your toes working and thinking all the time. This is needed to lead a physically and mentally healthy life.