Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Mike, I hear you. There are so many of us who experience the same thing. It's easy to take breathing as an automatic/ given thing, but sometimes we really do have to focus on it.

Dr. Melissa Read

I will practice more breathing and aerobic excercises to cope with stress!

I will not let only having a few minutes a day to stretch or exercise keep me from doing even the smallest amount of exercise. I have put it off in the past because I didn't have hour(s) to go to the gym and exercise, but I know now that is not the case.

I bring lunch and exercise. Hey I am a chef and if I do not have time to make a sack lunch of left overs of last nights dinner. I am all for that can of Tuna. Not a culinary delight but it will prevent me from eating junk which I have found does not allow me to manage my day the way I do with proper food intake, exercise, social time and sleep.

Years ago, my stress levels were through the roof and I did not handle them well. At the time I came across a pastor whom presented a stress reduction program. The program was mostly based on relaxation techniques which bordered on self hypnotism.
They took a couple of months to get comfortable with, bat as my mastery of the techniques improved, the effect was more pronounced. As with anything, practice made the techniques easier to use. Ultimately when stress was hitting a limit I found comfortable as a limit, I could run the technique and in a couple of minutes have returned my stress level to a more manageable degree.
The best part is the classes were free and I have seen them near where I currently live, still free. I have recommended the general idea of the classes to some of my students who might benefit from them. Some have taken the classes others not. The general feedback was the class was worth the time.