Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Utilizing pretests greatly assist in understanding the knowledge level of each student. While I am an administrator and no longer teach in a classroom setting, this is information I can use greatly when providing professional development to our team. 

Know your strengths and weaknesses.

Use your resources.

I'm constantly updating my course content to match what our industry is doing, so I rely heavily on our TAC committees to provide me with relevant teaching topics I can later research for full content.

In summary, lesson planning provides a roadmap for effective instruction, promotes organization and time management, facilitates adaptation to diverse learners, enhances student engagement, ensures alignment with learning objectives, and enables ongoing assessment and feedback.

I need to be prepared for the class/lecture to end early and if it does, have some activities or discussions planned to utilize the extra time wisely. Same goes for not getting through the entire lesson plan for the day - need to pick up where I left off the next day and try to manage the class time more effectively. Also keep a journal or notes when this happens so the next time I can be better prepared.

It is very important to understand how the students engage and to obtain what they may already know by testing their knowledge with a quiz. This will help when preparing your lesson plan. 

Great refresher on how to get students involved and ways to find new material. 

Prepare extra activities so students stay engaged for the whole class time.

Learn as much as you can about the material you are teaching, so you are more informed of all the information you can provide.