Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Programmatic Intervention Strategies | Origin: CS201

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Institutional Best Practices to Maximize Graduate Employment Outcomes --> Programmatic Intervention Strategies

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

I'm new to CS. If 81% of hiring managers and HR decision-makers surveyed identified past work experience as the number one attribute considered in the hiring process, then how do we get employers to give recent graduates a chance during COVID-19? 

Giving our students and alumni the best opportunities for interships and to volunteer are very benefial for them.

It's so important to give our students and graduates opportunities for professional development through events, workshops, etc. In order to best assist them, we as CSS have to continue and stay up to date in our own training and education in the field. 

There was a statistic given that there are over 1600 students to 1 career staff professional.  That ratio is obviously unsustainable for student career success.  Fortunately the ratio at our school is much lower than that.  We utilize many of the oractices outlined in his section such as internships and co-op opportunities.  Our program has the advantage of being a licensed trade with apprenticeship built in.  Earning while a student learns relieves the student of onerous student debt and allows learning tailor made for the on the job portion of the apprenticeship.