Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

To oversee the quality of schools, a governing board is needed so all comply to the same standards.

The Triad is in place to ensure the student is given the education and placement that the school offered. 

This topic has been pretty fascinating for me. For one, I am a nurse, so I understand the role of the State Board of Nursing, but I never quite understood the role of the accrediting bodies nor why they were important. Understanding that these accrediting bodies help ensure that students are getting the best education possible is a great benefit for schools. I didn't realize that schools aren't required to be accredited. Interesting information. 

Reply to Barbara Martin-Goldsand's post:

I have been an instructor for many years and was not familiar with the 

Regulatory Triad. This portion of the course was very informative and I

will apply this information. I was familiar with Title IV but the other was

new to me so appreciate learning this.

Before students can enroll in a program, the school has to meet minimum requirements for academic standards by a regional or national accrediting agency (recornized by the Department of Education), and by a state governing agency if licensure or certification is required prior to graduates practicing in their field. If federal loans are going to be used as part of student loans, these schools must also be Title-IV eligible.

I have learned about yjr Triad regulators and the structure it brings to our school. 

I did not realize that states are required to license and oversee distance ed schools (if it is being offered to residents of that state) and even if the school is located out of state.  

The hree levels that operating schools have to follow and maintain.  The break down of each. 

I learned about the Triad Regulations. I actually am very pleased to see how they work together for the quality of the educational provider.