Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Although many factors influence student retention, the frequency and quality of interactions between students, faculty, and staff is one of the few variables institutions can control that has a significant and positive impact on student retention.

A working alliance is the professional relationship between students and institutional personnel, which involves the establishment of rapport, trust, and a mutual agreement about goals and action plans. Building strong working alliances with online students is fundamental to increasing positive student outcomes.

I learned how important it is for all staff to be involved in communication with the Student. As an instructor I make myself availble to my students almost 24/7. Some students have no home support and need that extra TLC support system. I would like to see more of the staff involved in calling students that sre struggling, so that as a group we are a strong support system for students.   

Student retention is about relationships between the faculty and staff and the learner.  It is about providing an adequate support network in which the student knows they are cared for and that employees of the institution genuinely care if they succeed or fail.  It is not just the job of the faculty, but of every employee at the institution to perform their duties in a way that reinforce a positive professional relationship with the learners in their care.