Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Definition & Importance of U.S. Copyright Law | Origin: EL114

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Respecting Copyrights and Leveraging Available Resources --> Definition & Importance of U.S. Copyright Law

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

I use these practices daily in class since I teach Graphic Communications and Design classes.  We have to make sure we follow all copyright laws when creating t-shirts designs, logo and product designs. It was great to see more indepth on the Digital Millennium Copyright Act.

I'm an attorney and writer, and I've needed to understand this information in order to engage in best practices myself. As a teacher, figuring out what is proper can be tricky, so this is valuable information on how to approach learning online. Distinguishing the copyright protected materials from non-protected was particularly helpful.

As an educator I use multiple sources on the internet and do not request copyright. I intend to share this with my peers because this is valuable information about asking for permission. 

I liked the recommendations for computer software tools to help with anti-plagiarism efforts.

As a teacher I am very carefull to give notice of where I got my imf

It is quite easy to cross boundaries into copyright infringement without intending to do so. The fat that you think that the use of material is fair does not make it "fair use", and can open both you and your institution to serios finanical ramifications/

Yes because to protect someone else work its important to use and to give appropriate credit to the source you got the information from is very important.