Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Just as in a traditional classroom, the interactive white board is an additional tool for instructors to use to help reach their students. It is another platform to discuss information, which can only help add t what is hopefully already a diverse classroom in terms of disseminating information. Not all learners are the same, so when we can differentiate our teaching tools we have a better chance of reaching all of our students. Another benefit is that it can be accessed after the fact. Students can use it as a study tool and can refer back to it when they need too. ~Melissa

The use of the whiteboard allows students to see what is being discussed and to see ideas come together real-time. As an online instructor, I am able to throw my ideas up there and as students participate, their ideas are listed up there as well and they can see things come together. I think this encourages them to think and put their ideas together - even for those that tend to be a bit more shy.

Catherine,
Good points - so as well as help facilitate the discussion the capture of the logic and flow of the discussion can also reinforce the process.

Dr. Ruth Reynard

You can turn over the control to a student and have them draw on top of graphics to illustrate their point. It acts like a Smartboard in that way and is highly beneficial for interaction.

Dawn,
Good example...also the capturing functionality extends the usefulness of the exchange.

Dr. Ruth Reynard

Use of a white board increases student participation. If an open ended question is asked, students are free to provide their opinion on the topic. This allows for discussion among the instructor and interaction among students in the class. I try to make these questions apply what they have learned in their textbook to a real life situation they may encounter.