Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

My school has just purchased three white boards to be installed soon. I am anticipating that this new technology will serve as another level of contact for reaching the different style learners we serve. Presently, not all instructors in my department even make use of simple visual media tools like PowerPoint presentations. Hopefully the interactive boards will help bridge this divide just among the teaching staff.

Jerry,
Hopefully, they will not be used only as projection screens but as interactive tools.

Dr. Ruth Reynard

I have not use an electronic white board , but have seen it in action. It improves the attention of your audience and it helps the instructor or speaker create a very interactive discussion.
i am not very good at graphic art, so having a system that help in my short comings is always a welcome site.

Edward,
There are software catalogues of images, graphs, resources etc for various subject areas. This means you don't have to be an artist but if you can locate the useable resources, the technology helps with brainstorming, collaboration, and distribution.

Dr. Ruth Reynard

The Interactive White Board is a great instruction tool to capture student’s work and distribute it – a major asset for brainstorming with a group project. Student can contribute their ideas, edit, discuss – and you can be giving feedback while assessing the student learning process.

Betsy,
Great feedback...do you have any examples of activities you have actually used in class with this technology?

Dr. Ruth Reynard

• Provide opportunities for brainstorming with students including capturing concepts, dialogue sessions, and conversations about topics, ideas, graphics, etc.
• Provide an opportunity to collaborate on the development of various content themes or ideas and promote student involvement

Julie,