Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As an online instructor, I believe we need to be able to take advantage of the technology available to communicate with students. For me, one of the key aspects of focus is the way I provide them feedback on their assignment. A thorough approach that helps them understand what they did well and what needs to be improved in their assignment is a key aspect of clear communiction: I want to make sure students understand the message and can use the information to improve their work. The same applies or at least should apply to work environment: effective communicate is essential in order to achieve specific goals. Also, the whole concept of feedback is important: what is communication is we can't measure is effectivness. In other words, effective communication should be linked to the achievement of a goal.

Robert,
There are many programs out there that are free to use in order to get in touch with the students. Skype is one of these.

Shelly Crider

I teach all IT/Computer classes and I help students learn the value of effective communication through simulated, real-world scenarios. For IT professionals, most of our communication is with colleagues on the “business” side of the job. We have to convey IT needs to Managers (in plain English), translate the needs of the business into realistic and cost-effective IT solutions and know when we can talk “IT” and when we cannot! Many of my assignments include two-part answers: one where the students (or teams) must write an IT solution to their Senior IT Manager and two where they explain the same technical solution to a business manager.