Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Hi Vanessa,
I am a 24-year veteran in teaching, and I always look for ways to improve even 24 years later. Professional growth is a good thing.

Patricia Scales

You must realize that you have a job to do and do well for all the students. You are not there for socialization or to make friends. Yes, you want to be liked but this should not take precedence over your quality of work and dedication to all the students.

I think I have made all of them (instructor mistakes), and wish I had this tutorial before my first day of teaching. I may have saved myself some heartache. On the other hand, Professor Delong reinforced that in order to do something well you must do it poorly at first. Possibly one way to avoid making mistakes, is to learn from making them in the first place.

My biggest issue (mistake) was my very technical background. I have a Masters in Information System and being able to bring it to a language the student could understand was a challenge.

The first class I taught on grounds, I was super nervous. I hoped the students did not see thru me. I did teach software to businesses, but that was more of an informal setting.

Well put, I think each day brings new challenges to the classroom and we have to be open minded to consider re-adjusting our methods to better meet the needs of each student.

Hi Antonio,
You know the material! Prepare! You many even want to try to mock teach to family members or other faculty to help with preparation.

Patricia Scales

Being a fairly new instructor I find myself talking way to fast and getting through the lectures to quickly.I have begun to slow down and add personel experiences into the lecture .The students seem to like the real world applications of the skills they are learning.