Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Finances is a stressor that cannot be eliminated
because it is a constant battle we fight throughtout our lifetime. Management is the key to successfully use your money to your advantage.

Yes, money management is the key. People who keep careful watch over their finances can reduce stress and budget to splurge every once in a while too!

As a Nurse, I made a decision when I decided to change my career goals and chose to transition from the hospital environment in Leadership/Management, to the academic setting.

The decision was to acquire my Certificate in Nursing Education and continue in the Masters of Nursing Education program; after acquiring a Faculty position.

This is a specific stressor in my life that definitely cannot be eliminated; because I made this decision to take these steps to pursue my continuing education.

I have completed the Certificate in Nursing Education program and will continue in the Masters of Nursing Education program in the fall. The load that I was carrying certainly was not easy; but, I had to persevere.

Completing theory/clinical with Nursing students was another challenge; coupled with all the other obligations and commitments. I also started an exercise regimen with a group of friends on a weekly basis and I am sure this helped me to adapt and cope with the stress.

I think that the only thing that I would do differently to decrease the severity of the stressor, would be to schedule my own education at varying times and not so close to each other. What I have learned from the module is that by doing things differently, I would be more apt to reduce the negative short/long-term consequences of what stressful circumstance present
and have a more healthy and productive life.