Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Strategies for Increasing Student Motivation

What are some strategies for increasing student motivation?

When I was a student, I became more motivated when the instructor asked me for insight or feedback or insight. It made me be more prepared for class that day and to ask more questions and therefore learn more from that lesson.

I also tend to pull from my own experiences, and I remember how it felt when the instructor would allow students to talk through their lecture or talk while another student was trying to answer a question posed by the instructor...I thought it was disrespectful. In my syllabus, I add a section for classroom etiquette, which addresses such issues as talking out of turn in class, talking on/texting with cell phones, interrupting others while they are talking, etc., and I go over this section thoroughly on the first day of class. While covering this section of the syllabus, I ask the students if they will give any other examples of being rude in class and I usually get a lot more examples than I list in the syllabus. The students tend to be pretty proud of themselves at this point, because they are given the opportunity to expound upon the syllabus, the culture of the classroom environment and they are being allowed to "own it" a little by showing, through their own examples, that they know how they are supposed to act in class.

Debbie,
Good to hear you have a model to follow based upon your own positive experience as a student. Build upon and use all the strategies that you have had exposure to and with your own creativity you will have a tool box of teaching that contains all kinds of "tools" to get the job done.
Gary

Dr. Gary Meers

Miriam,