Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

From this module, I learned to think about the different types of teaching styles, and the different types of classroom environments, and what effects they can have on the student.

Understanding my personality type is very important to know what type of teacher I am. 

Being organized and observing the students and the setting can improve the way my students see me as their instructor

Bringing industry partners into the classroom is an excellent way to connect learning to life. Besides being a student, my first introduction to a classroom was by being a guest speaker after I opened my first business. It was always interesting to experience the different sets of students. I always wondered what kind of questions they would ask me. When I invite guest speakers, I encourage them to bring pictures of their day-to-day experiences and have a few different questions ( more like fun facts they may not know) prepared to ask the students.

I took away the most from the time management solutions. It's so easy to get off-topic in conversation. It's hard to disengage when the students are invested in the discussion, but ensuring you go through all the contents is essential. Now, I will say that I have allowed the conversation to take over the class a time or two when it is almost teaching the subject matter.  

Sooo much to learn! In a nutshell, be prepared and observant.

Comment on Larry Canfield's post: I agree Larry, I have seen others using tons of post it notes and to me it appeared slightly sloppy. However, color coding some of the major points/areas seems like a great strategy. 

I learned that a pause of 20 seconds where you stand to the side of the classroom or laboratory and observe the students can be very useful and successful within the classroom dynamic. This would help me make any needed adjustments to keep the students engaged in the learning process.