Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

as for a mentor in my "life" it would have to have been my father, the most important words he ever said to me were, "you know right from wrong" and I have lived those words to the best of my ability to this day.

Now as for a mentor in my current career, I would have to say it was my Hontech Instructors Eric Bartosky and Mike Ross when I was going to school. Now, ironically I work beside both of them from time to time and am commonly known to my students by the label given to mne by Eric as "success story".

I am a walking and talking testimate to the instruction and tutalage that I have received at MMI as a former student myself. Because I am now an instructor back here at MMI sharing with my students the learning that made me a professional success in this chosen career.

Thanks, Earl. It sounds like your students are in good hands.

Cristina,

What are one or two things you do intentionally other than looking at the students, (which is great),to make them feel important?

Thank you, Darrell. My dad was my greatest mentor. His advise and example were very simmilar to what you expressed in this post.

I always make sure I remember their name. I always ask about the children and/or the family -- how they are doing. I go out of my way when an instructor informs me of an absence. I call personally and ask how I can help. Mostly I am able to assist in some way when it comes to transportation and work problems (conflict). They like it when you ask them to come to my office and share a few minutes and just talk about them. It helps me understand their concerns and am able to help them effectively.

Thanks, Cristina. Showing this type of caring is what separates good schools from the rest.

Miss williams was my mentor I am able to provide for my children today because she did not let me quit school. I use to think of her like as a spy.
She always knew when I needed help.