Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

How Do You Lead? |Origin: LS102

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

How Do You Lead?

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

It is amazing to realize the various leadership types and my own approach. Although I studied leadership as part of my dissertation, I am still blown away by the amount of leadership types.

I have learned about various leadership styles in the past, but the way in which this information was presented and provides benefits and risks of each leadership style has allowed me to do a little self-reflection into my own way of leading. I identified with several different styles based on certain situations or issues so it was helpful to understand that we are not necessarily pigeon-holed into one single style, but rather encouraged to embrace various styles. I think leaders of all levels and experiences would benefit from being more flexible and adpatable in thier approach as it will only add to the rich and diverse dynamics of the organization.

In this module, I realized that I am not alone in this.  Other leaders face similar challenges and I took a few good ideas on how to overcome these challenges.

Samantha

I tend to lead with a democratic style. I like to hear other opinions of coworkers before making a final decision to follow. 

In this lesson, I learned one could flex between leadership styles. In the past, I thought one was limited to a single style.

VERY INTERSTED

VERY INFORMITIVE .

I learned more about myself and various leadership styles!!

There are many different leadership types and it is interesting to see that I feel that I am a mixture - not coercive though.   I don't think that is an effective strategy at all.