Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The most important thing I learned was the seven principles of learning.

There are a lot of pitfalls students might find, such as procrastinating, asuming the course will be easy, or underestimating the time needed to complete a course. By communicating with students, the teacher can help them to avoid these pitfalls.

There is alot of good teaching information in this module. While I studied the conten, I kept reflecting that much of the information is just as relavent to a F2F classroom and it is in a online class.

The topics for the module are:

1) Planning and goal setting - good information for any learning environment

2) Netiquette: Tone and Attitude - This one is directed for an online class, yet the message of communicate with RESPECT can be applied to all forms of communication

3) Time management - good information for any learning environment

4) Pitfalls Students Should Avoid - good information for any learning environment

5) Princoples of Learning - good information for any learning environment

I clearly understand the principles of teaching and learning and where I went wrong.

Finding ways to help learners avoid the pitfalls is crucial.  Students who fall into this trap will begin to feel defeated or unsuccessful the risks student making the choice to fail a course.

Students must be committed to adhere to deadlines and work diligently in online courses. Online learning provides some degree of freedom for students to arrange courses around other aspects of their life, but it is important that they understand that procrastination and/or a lack of time management will not enhance this freedom.

Applying the 7 principles of learning partnered with clear and professional communication with each student is essential for a successful outcome.