Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Shlomo,
We do need to have some good, solid computer knowledge.

Shelly Crider

Jennifer,
There are course developers groups that you can become involved with to help you if this is of interest to you.

Shelly Crider

Gemma ,
I am self-taught as well! There are many times you learn just as much from something that does not work as something that does.

Shelly Crider

Technological experience is only necessary in that it allows the designer to know the limits of what he or she can include in the online course. Typically designers are not the IT experts anyway- they partner with SMEs in IT to help implement the online course.
The designer can come up with the content, objectives, learning activities, evaluations, etc... They understand adult learning principles and motivating factors and learning styles. It's rare they would also be the IT guru as well. Once the design ideas are there, you bring in a technology wizard to answer the questions, "can i really do all of this and if not, what can I do instead?" Collaboration and partnership.

I guess I would have to agree. I think it is more important that you are a subject matter expert than a technology wizard. However, I do think you have to be familiar with the platform and have strong basic computer skills. I wish there was more collaboration between those instructors who are "tech-savvy" and those who could use some help. Often in the online environment we are very isolated and aren't interacting and learning from our peers.

Natalie,
Collaboration and partnership....two of my favorite words!!

Shelly Crider

I would have to disagree. As the technology advances in the industry also needs to be used in the classes. This will make sure that the learners will be able to use the same technology once they graduate. If the courses do not keep up with the growing technology then the learners will not be able to work in the fields that they have chosen.