Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

You have discovered the benefits of being a flexible teacher and reading your students. This allows you to insert the right activity when you lose them to bring them back.

We change it up often, going from lecture to hands on frequently during class time. Our class is a four hour class so there is no way anyone could lecture or listen for that amount of time. I also have the student help with the lecture when we are working on terms or various readings from the book and interject with real life experiences to make more interesting whenever possible.

As an instructor, I will refocus my students by first allowing them to take a break and then as they return to class, I then allow a student to demonstrate the task that we learned. This will include the steps taken and including the why and how for the demonstrated task! I then allow the other students to ellaborate on the deomstration as well as what could be done to improve as well as what was done correctly!

I like to bring in people that my students do not know and have them do vitals, etc. on them. It is more like a real life setting. I use many family members and friends and am never short on volunteers.

This is an excellent idea as it causes the students to interact with strangers, which will be their job once they graduate.

During long spans of hands-on content, they first thing I use is taking a good old-fashioned break, usually around 10 minutes. We are generally working on massage, so I make sure they are moving around the body and not staying on one part of the body for too long. I will also show them different techniques to use on each part of the body so it does not become monotonous for them or the person they are working on. Sometimes we will even do hands-on first, then lecture, then go back to hands-on.

Dana, the variety in your class is part of your students success. Keep up the good work.