Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Strategies to Maximize | Origin: ED142

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Military Veterans: Integrating Vetarans into Post-Secondary Classes --> Strategies to Maximize

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

This helped me understand that having an adaptable and flexible classroom is essential not only for our very special vets but for all students in general.  Learning is not a one size fits all, each student is unique and each student deserves the most of their education.

I have been through countless year's worth of training due to military training and training I've received as a civilian.  I've come to understand that it is important to relay the significance of the material in an everyday application.  I'm an instructor at a trade school and teach for crane operator, rigger, and signalperson certifications.  I teach my classes based on the most helpful instructors and how they helped me absorb the information to be able to retain it and apply it effectively.  Being flexible in your approach with the information has helped reach more students than I thought possible.  The crane class I attended is the same crane class that I teach at the same facility.  My class is not the class I attended.  It's the same information, but it is not conducted in the same manner.  I am lucky to have been given the opportunity to take ownership of the class and to conduct the class as desired.  Each class evolves into it's own experience, driven by the student's needs and obstacles to learning.  They vary in age, experience, Veterans and non Veterans.  Each class comes with its own course of instruction based on these variables.