Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Dependability, respect for others and accountability for actions are the most important, especially when part of team. I worked in healthcare for 10 years before I started teaching and I have brought those practices with me and try to instill them into my students.

Michael,
One way to look at it is what skills do most people value as opposed to most important. Everyone's values are different as well as their interpretations of what is important.
Philip Campbell

Dena,
Keep up the good work. Your skills that you have learned will be an asset for the students in your class.
Philip Campbell

Sometimes it is based on the dynamics of the class, some classes require more of one skill than the other.

Dependability, appearance, inspiring confidence, gaining trust

Being a good communicator, which includes being a good listener, and being polite and understanding of the student's circumsances.

I believe that the most important soft skill is a positive attitude. I find that people whom enter into their workplace with a positive disposition are generally flexible and team-oriented. Maintaining a positive attitude is pertinent to having successful people skills and a healthy workplace behavior.
Staying positive in an educational setting also fosters a good learning environment where students feel comfortable to approach the instructor.

Gary,
I love that, communicating and listening. Sometimes people forget communication is a two way street.
Philip Campbell

I personally think integrity, tact, and a sense of humor are the most important soft skills for any workplace. Someone who shows integrity will be trusted by their "team" and will undoubtedly show others respect. Someone who shows tact will be able to handle situation with empathy and kindness toward others. And a sense of humor is needed in any workplace to prevent people from getting angry or mean toward others.