Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Tammy,
All experiences are great experiences as it gives specific examples.
Philip Campbell

Sondra,
What ever helps to motivate them will help them. Finding what that is takes time.
Philip Campbell

I teach a course that focuses on motivation and I always use the gas tank analogy. In order to reach our destinations, achieve our goals, complete our tasks, etc. you have to monitor and watch your motivation. When it gets low you have to refuel, re-assess, re-focus and re-charge or if you run out of motivation you are stuck. It seems to be a widely accepted analogy and it helps students to understand that motivation especially in a school setting won't always be high, but by learning to recognize the symptoms they can keep themselves from running out of gas.

I find motivating students one of the jobs of teaching. I have over 20 years of practical experience to bring to the classroom, and I find it very easy to make the class relevant to the field the students are aspiring to. Hands-on application of skills beats lecturing hollow! Once they have the experience of practicing a skills instead of being shown it, they're self-motivated!

I find motivating students one of the jobs of teaching. I have over 20 years of practical experience to bring to the classroom, and I find it very easy to make the class relevant to the field the students are aspiring to. Hands-on application of skills beats lecturing hollow! Once they have the experience of practicing a skills instead of being shown it, they're self-motivated!

Gay,
Relevance is what will make or break a class. If yo can show how they will use it after they graduate, you will have them eating out of the palm of your hand every time.
Philip Campbell

Correlating what they are learning in the classroom to possbile real-life experiences.

Tara,
Always a good example of what to do in the classroom.
Philip Campbell