Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As an instructor I find that following the rules and procedures not difficult as long as there is consistency. Some employers are inconsistent in applying the rules and procedures on a daily basis. That is extrememely stressful. We have been allow to set guidlines for students who miss quizzes and exams which are now set in a course policy. This has help to lightened the stress load at the end of each five weeks, which is major testing week.

Some of my stress comes from students that miss exams on test days, miss class on a regular basis, and tell me after class that they did not understand anything that I taught that day. Some stress comes from wondering if I am teaching the material in the best way that I can, rewriting exams, and changing lesson plans.

As a school director, trying to juggle everything and not drop the ball on anything is a huge stressor. Sometimes on Sunday night I can't even go to sleep because I'm thinking about what needs to be done. Another stressor is all of the student issues. Sometimes they have so many problems.

Feeling unfulfilled in my job adds to my stress level. There was a time it felt great to come to work. Rules and procedures seem to consume the day. I love my hobby but know that it may not earn a good living. Unstable shift schedules are making it nearly impossible to attend college. I know that I am the one ultimately in control of this but, how do I make changes without affecting my obligations to family? I believe it's something called balance. It's hard to achieve this in daily life. Some never do.