Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

you should be organized in grading tests

i will have my students write the answer to the side of the question

we use scantrons for all exams, but I will let them grade each others homework in class.

As an on-line instructor I know it is very important to give my students the experience commensurate with face to face instruction. Although I assign APA formatted papers and essay exams, the effort is well worth it.
My students have often reported that they feel they have gleaned as much from my on-line classes as a live face to face class. I believe an on-line instructor has to provide more effort in order to achieve the same objectives since that face to face interaction is lost.

My tests are fairly well streamlined. I will however try to format the short answer questions to instruct a student to highlight what they feel are the key points in their answer.

I don't anticipate changing my grading format at all. I teach a MS Office applications course. My students first do the chapter project together; with me stepping through it on the projector. This not usually a graded item because we did it together. They then do the lab individually. This is a graded item which I grade by hand so that I can identify problem areas that might require additional time. They then take a task based quiz which is graded by the computer. I think I have a pretty good mix of grading by hand and electronic grading. I do not however use an online grading system that is available to the students, but thanks to the information in this course I will begin using it very soon.

agree!! this will save us so much time!!

I love the idea of highlighting their essays and going over the homework collectively. Great time savers.

Abstracting from op reports is very critical as well as selecting the proper code. Having the students highlight the words they need to code correctly shows they are understanding the process of abstracting.