Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As a VN clinical instructor, I motivate my students by giving them positive feedback after performing a skill. If I have students who are weak at performing a skill, I motivate them by telling them " you can do this! you done it in skills lab." I let them perform the skill at clinical and if they have some areas they need to improve in, I find another patient who needs that skill to be done and let my student perform it again. By doing this, my student gets motivated to improve, and builds self-esteem.

DOUNIADEH,
Your support of the learning efforts of your students is to be commended. This is how they build confidence while gaining in skill development. Keep up these most important ways of providing motivation to and for your students.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

What I will occasionally do for motivation for the students and myself is to find companies that are great places to work and are developing new technologies. I will display an article on the projector about the company and show the students what they could possibly be doing in the future. I will then show them that the companies need people with the knowledge they are acquiring and they too could work there if they continue to work hard. Google is a great example for motivation.

I agree with this post also. When I see/hear the excitement in the students I'm more motivated in doing more to get them stimulated.

share any of your personal experience related to the topic or a story to derive the aim of the lesson as motivation.

Darryl,
Great way to make your content come alive for your students while giving value to it as well. This is what will help sell your content to your students. You are giving them a glimpse on what is waiting for them upon graduation and this is a great motivator as you say.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.