Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have been teaching and grading exams for almost ten years, and I think that I have successfully streamlined my method for efficient and effective grading of my students' assignments. I rely upon multiple choice, true false, fill in the blank, and concise short answer formats so that I am able to use an instructor test "key" for fast and accurate grading.

Excellent to hear Mike! Yes, those instructors who have been teaching for a long time often experience the benefits of years of streamlining. Those who are new struggle. You might reach out to new faculty members and see what you can do to help them.

I teach online and the curriculum is already set but if I were to change them I would set it up so that all assessments were automatically graded and the instructions for the homework assignments were more specific (i.e. the essay should be 1 page in length, all work should be proofread for spelling and grammatical errors, references should be cited,there should be a warning about plagarism, all attachments should end in a rtf or doc extension, etc). I believe this would help reduce the number of assignments I send back for editing. I would also not procrastinate in grading them and set a certain time aside every day to accomplish this.

We dont assighn home work at this point and the exams are multiple choice. The challenge is with the lab sheets. Alot of the instructors wait untill the end of the course before they are graded. I have found that if you grade labs on the same day you dont have a back log at the end of the course. You can also let the students see what they are doing corectly and coach them on the ones that are not.