Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I think a lot of it depends on where you are teaching, if you are a full time instructor or an adjunct instructor who comes to school 1-2x a week. As an adjunct instructor I find that a lot of time is spent hauling in materials, hauling out materials, getting set up, etc. End result--it is difficult to grow because we get bogged down with school rules and regulations!

I try to read the materials before class and feel fresh when I walk into the classroom. Depending on my class and the levels of the students, I attempt to adjust how I present the materials based on how they are presenting themselves. If they look tired, I don't lecture much.

I firmly believe that you can NEVER know enough about the subject you are teaching; even if you have taught it for years and years. However, if you are well versed in your subject matter, this will give you more time to work on (polish) your classroom techniques, etc.
I try to work on my content knowledge AND classroom teaching techniques every week, however depending on the topic for the week I may devote more time to one or the other. As you become a more experienced "learning facilitator" you start to sense what you need to work on and strengthen each week. Of course, all of this also depends on the students in your class: are they eager learners, do they seem distracted, are they interested in the course content, etc.

-James Moore

It is a tough balancing act.
My priority is usually to make sure I have mastered the content for the class day before I work on new ways of teaching the material.
In all cases, there is never enough time for everything!

I love this statement. I try to tweak something every class. Or add new activities when possible. Every now and then an activity fails miserably.