Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have a unique role within my institution, as a campus administrator I've covered Admissions appointments, I've counseled students in Student Services, I've helped students file FAFSAs and revise resumes. In short, I've worked nearly all departments of the school and I'm very pleased to say that we do keep Retention at a forefront.

Prospective students are asked to identify potential obstacles from the first Admissions interview; also to speculate where they will be in 5 years after graduation and a year if they didn't follow through with getting an education. Asking the student to voice concerns along with aspirations allows the Admissions staff to specifically address whether our school matches that student's needs.

These same questions are then addressed in orientation, also (at a Student Services level) at every "check-point." Meetings are scheduled for students 5 days into the program, 21 days into the program, 50% of program completion, and 75% of program completion. Students are mailed and asked to participate in a quick survey within their first week of classes and are similarly asked to rate their education experience half-way through their program and before they graduate.

We also hold a Student Senate meeting monthly where the floor is open to any concerns, questions, or atta-boys.

Our students certainly have ample opportunity to provide feedback on what our faculty and staff could improve on and what parts of their educations they are enjoying the most!