Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I think the best way is to assign practice exercises for the students to complete and turn in. At this time, I can review and see if they have a grasp on the concept w/o have a penalty towards their grade.

As an instructor, I would assess the following:
- are posts relevant to the topic
- how many posts
- is the link explained or just added without letting people know why

Suzanne,

Those are great criteria. Do they match your objectives you hope to measure?

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Eryn,

That is an interesting way to use the media sites. It does allow students to show their knowledge.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

As a recent grad student myself, I found one of the most useful ways of assessment was through peer review of media hosting and sharing sites. One of our larger assignments in this course was to give a sample lecture live through an online course. Our fellow classmates than gave feedback on our performance and suggestions for improvement. We were graded on participating in this peer review. I found this exercise very helpful and a great way of assessment.

Turnitin.com is a great tool for developing rubrics for papers/submitted projects. They are completely customized by the instructor with scales, criteria, etc. I have found this to be an effective way to integrate Turnitin with grading and evaluation of student submitted papers.