Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

this is a great forum. I am finding all these very helpful as I'm a new instructor.

Adrian,
I am excited that your are excited. I wish you much success in your instructional endeavors.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Having clear goals and objectives eliminates the "Am I Doing This Right?" concern that many students have. They will know if they are doing something right because they will have the measurable goals and objectives there for them to evaluate themselves by. In addition, it shows learners what the purpose is behind a particular class and how it will benefit them and how it aligns to their personal goals and objectives.

Shawn,
Good way to make the expectations of the course clear to the students. You are right they know where they are in the course and how they are doing with this approach.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I don't know where this might fit into the conversation however what are your thoughts on the use of study guides provided to students in preparation for exams to further their focus on achieving the goals and objectives.

sam

It's important to any endeavor that you have clear goals and objectives. In order to achieve something or "get somewhere", you need to first know where or what that goal(s) is in order to plot a course toward it. Without clear goals and objectives, it is like trying to shoot an arrow at a target with a blindfold on: You have to see what you're shooting for to have any reasonable chance of hitting it.

That is an awesome quote. I believe all instructors have gone into a classroom at one time or another and have felt less prepared than they wanted to be due to lack of preparation. A classroom definitely runs much smoother when the instructor is prepared.

CLEAR GOALS AND OBJECTIVES NOT ONLY PROVIDE STUDENTS WITH AN UNDERSTANDING OF THE CONTENT OF THE COURSE BUT IT ALSO HELPS DEVELOP THE LOGICAL FLOW OF THE MATERIAL TO BE PRESENTED.