Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

First Week and Late Enrollments | Origin: RT102

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Orientation and First Week Activities to Increase Retention --> First Week and Late Enrollments

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

If you've built a strong orientation, the students will already be a little familiar with each other and the instructor

Enhance assimilation during the first week. Address behaviors and patterns. Attendance call as soon as you go in. Build a bond.

The first week of class is so important for new and returning students. I have been teaching for more than 15 years and I have noticed that the more engaged the students were the first week better chance of returning the next. Hands on activities work great the first week. Getting students in the lab early, if you can safely, really gets them motivated to continue.

The hardest thing to deal with is the late arriving or missing first day students.

Students who enroll late should be paired with a senior student to guide them as a mentor. This ensures that they have the time needed to assimilate without causing the instructor to hold up class for the rest of the new students.

To be there and be present 

The importance of instructors with late enrollees. "It is extremely important that instructors make the student feel welcome and not overwhelmed, while still providing realistic expectations. Students who start classes late are already at risk. Making them feel unduly overwhelmed or excluded will be sure to drive them out the door early."

Practice empathy and relate to students while maintaining a safe, interacive learning environment. Always follow-up with late orientation and/or enrollments to ensure success of program, college or individual student. 

Great strategies mentioned to better support late enrollment students