Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Anthony,

I am sure if you look back at the best instructors and the "not so good" instructors in your life, you will find that you have also picked up teaching methods from each of them as well.

I had one employer when I first started in the field that took the time to teach me simple ways to do things its showed me that he cared. Still talk to him years later.

When I first started out as a technician my mentor was the shop forman at the dealership. He didn't just treat me like one of the techs. He got to know me personally and we eventually became friends. Ontop of being one of the smartest techs I've ever known. He was a nice enough guy to want to get to know me -- always asking about my home life -- getting envolved.

The effects it has on me for my role as a career educator is huge. I always try to get to know the students a little and help them with non automotive related problems. This has helped me build a solid relationship with them.

James,

Getting to know your students helps drastically in the ability to mentor to your stuents. Knowing information about their work or family, can develop the relationship needed to directly touch a student's success.

My mentors were the Field Enginners at the Ford training center , everytime I went for training I was always impressed with the way the classes were conducted and always pictured myself doing the same thing some day , teaching someone and having a good time doing it too .

Antonio,

You were fortunate to have such top quality mentors. Your students will remember you the same way!

My mentors were those that didn't just tell me what was expected and hold me accountable; but those that lived by the same expectations they taught. Students can see through insincerity.