Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Your Mentor

I had an instructor in a high school tech class that followed these procedures and i didnt see it then but when i became an instructor myself i understood why he was so concerned with our well being and how important our success was to him.

I had a mentor push me to take the route that made me happy. He pushed me in this direction versus pushing me to what was expected. His persuasion to follow passion rather then expectations has made it possible for me to make my life what it is. This has in turn made me open to others passions and to encourage them to follow those passions.

During my first year as a college student I had a couple of instructors that took a personal interest in me where I was able to have discussions and debates with them about our course work. I was treated with respect, listened to and looked forward to coming to class.

One person in particylar was my first CEO of the first company I worked for in career education. He became a mentor to me in that he instilled in me that even though we are a business, the first and most important thing to learn was to treat students with dignity and respect and be sure we are providing them what they are paying for. Even if your margins are a bit below expectations, if you don't give the students what they are paying for, your margins will plummet. Students come first and you give them the attention they deserve, while also making them understand the boundaries or rules of the game under which they must act.

That has been my belief and practice through the years and, I believe, is what has most contributed to my success as a career educator.

It has been my experience that if you set your students down talk to them and try to get to know them after you have set the base rules for your class the respect and respond effectively to almost all your request.