Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

1. Try to identify problems with students earlier.
2. Reiniate the benefits of training in our field.
3. Encourage the student to finish the goals setout.

Counsel students on their progress.Let them know that their education is important to them. Being successfull is also their responsibility.

I plan on
1. Making sure to stay in better contact with my students to make sure that everything is ok.
2. Trying to run my classes in a more fun way so that the students will make sure that they come to class and learn the material.
3. Coming up with my own Best Practices so that I am a better educator.

at our school every effort is being made to envolve all staff in retention programs. continued max knowledge training, in house meetings, department meetings, and setting personal goals to establish retention practices used in classes daily.

I have been a business instructor for 20 years and these simple things have helped (I think) to hold students in the classroom.

1. Maintain a high degree of Professionalism - this includes always looking the part, business attire, and being prepared for every class.

2. Place on the board a list of the days work and the expectations for the next class. This seems to keep every student aware of where we are, and where we are going at least this week. It also helps if there are deviations from the original syllabus.

3. Actually call every student that misses two classes in a row. I ask them to contact me any time they are not expecting to be in class. It rarely happens. So we as instructors must be the proactive ones.

I plan to continue these actions in the next 30 days and beyond.

1.Ensure that grades are updated and accurate on the online grading system.
2. Cover with instructors/staff the Survey Method and the Vertical Probe.
3. Be proactive in asking students on breaks and after class about an issue when needed.