Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

come frome your heart & experiences

I really like some of the intervention approaches in this section. I feel that not every problem will require this amount of involvement. Some of the problems that they have could be issues that the instructor may have delt with personally and can help by talking about their own dealings when in a similer situation.

I agree with you, Jeff. I liked this breakdown too. It made me think of some aspects of retention that I hadn't thought about before.

I agree with you. I have used personal experiences in the past with my students and it helps them to see that they are not alone, there is always a solution.

Relating to the student is helpful. I am a graduate from the school I now teach for, and I know the struggles that my students go through.

Do you share your experiences as part of a lecture or is this more on a personal basis? Do you have any generational differences in perception and expectations?

When you offer your experiences with students that are relatable, it allows them to feel like you are a real person instead of just someone "doing a job". It shows you care and are willing to help.

I think that it is very important to come from your heart and use personal experiences when dealing with students so that they know that they are dealing with a real human being and that everyone faces obstacles. It has always been more inspiring to me when someone that has faced some of the same issues and problems can tell me about overcoming them.

I quite often share my experiences that are related to a lecture and find that students adapt much more quickly to information that they recognize relevance to in regards to what I have shared.