Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

TJ,

Great delineation of the skills needed for managers & also great observation regarding self-management. Often managers are merely high-performing technicians who have been suddenly promoted & so this can be a real struggle.
Ryan

As a manager I have found the 2 most important skills are being a good listener and follow through of communications.

A manager that does not listen does not know what his team is thinking.

A manager that can not communicate well with follow up will loose his team on the path to success.

Richard,
Great points & both are a crucial part of communicating. Managers too often think their job is to get others to do things rather than listening to their concerns & ideas.
Ryan

Two that I feel at the top of the list are being consistent in your decision making and communicating well with your team.

Yes, consistency is so crucial & can quickly make or break you as a leader.

I believe the most important skills and qualities starts with you. We need to have consistency, good communication, open listening skills, and a vivid plan so these traits can and will build good relationships and teams to lead.

I love all of the areas you identified, especially your point about the "vivid plan." It is so crucial to have a plan to continue to develop these traits in yourself & others, not just rest on laurels. Great.
Ryan

I feel it's crucial to KNOW your team and what motivates them. Employees are inspired and will work harder for their leaders if they respect and believe in them..

I believe the most important qualities to supervising others are a few. They must have the ability to remain level headed; be able to listen to eveyones points of view (whether they are a team member or a keypoint person). A leader has to have the ability to influence to benifit others as well as the end result.