Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

These assessments can be a little confusing. I'm glad they have great descriptions and examples but I do find it hard identifying which is which

I have learned that as an intructor we must provide feedback to students not just marking right or wrong with no feedback, it is imperative that feedback be a consistent part of any assessment.  Student's will understands what areas needs improvement.

I learned that I am much more comfortable with criterion-referenced assessments. As a student, I hated it when a teacher graded on a curve and I am not a competitive person by nature. I was intrigued by the idea of looking at individual test questions and evaluating who got it right and who got it wrong. I think this would be an important tool for knowing how to reach individual students and how to make a test better. 

Nancy Tosh

There are different ways to determine a student's understanding of the subject matter. Objective is more black and white with clear right and wrong answers, it would be helpful in summative assesments. Subjective definitely gives a little more maneuverability to understanding the student's perspective, it could be helpful when utilizing formative assessment.

Both norm-referenced and criterion-referenced assessments are important for student learning. As a nursing instructor, I need students to be compared to a standard when performing skills. However, they also must be compared to large groups so a norm-referenced assessment is also helpful in preparation for taking a national board exam. 

I learned that I have always used the assessments described in this unit however I haven't always thought of them using these terms. 

Both objective and subjective assessments can be used as a part of a complete formative assessment.

I see the value of both. My experiences have been more to the objective methods (ie Flight ttraining).