Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Identifying Principles of Learning

What Principles of Learning do you believe are most important for your online teaching?

In reviewing the seven principles of learning in forum 4 of this course, I think that all of them are important in online teaching and learning. However, the ones that are most important for the classes I teach online are:

1. Encourage contact between students and instructor. I found that the students who remain in communication with me and is not afraid to ask questions do better that students who do not and depend on their own knowledge to help them succeed in class. I try to help them to understand that they are in class to learn so they should not be shy or afraid to ask as many questions and reach out as often as they need to for help.

2. Encourage active learning. It is important that students remain engaged in learning and as an instructor, I must find ways to always engage students.

3. Communicate high expectations. I believe that students need to be challenged to apply their best effort. As their instructor, I must let the students know the expectations of the course at the beginning of the term and then hold the students responsible for meeting those expectations. Equally important are what students could expect from me. Like the student expectations, what they should expect from me must also be given at the beginning of the term and followed precisely.

I believe that when these expectations are met, there will be some positive results in the classroom and students and instructor will be more successful.

Well they're clearly all important but based on how we structure our courses (no teams of students possible), the most important for me are: