Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Asking a lot of questions to the students seems to help them stay focused.

On some review subjects, I like to actually let a student come to the front of the class and teach.

Martin ,
I too have found that Gen Y seems to really appreciate discussions.

Dr. Ryan Meers

But does this really prepare them for a business enviroment?

I always have several topics ready to discuss with my students. This seems to help with discussions on material.

I am fortunate that I still work full-time in the field and I am an instructor on a part time basis. This gives me the opportunity to share recent experiences that directly relate to what they are learning. It give me credibility and tends to keep them interested.

I often start class by telling my students stories of what happened at work over the weekend.

Jeremy,
yes this generation seems to really respond well to those real life experiences.

Dr. Ryan Meers

Theresa,
yes the more variety we can incorporate the better.

Dr. Ryan Meers

I ask qquestions and call on a student to answer the question then I ask what does someone else think before I give the answer. By doing this I get more involvement form the class

Yes, definitely no more than 5 in a group. Works great in my class.

Scott,
I agree that 5 really should be the top number.

Dr. Ryan Meers

I like to add personal experiences and thoughts while lecturing material. It lets the students know that I do know what I am talking about and it gives a value to what I am teaching.. they will be able to use it when they are done with the program. I like to ask open ended questions and then have students respond and "feed off" of one another. When a student asks a question, before just giving them the answer, we discuss the question and get feed back from others in the class (not making the person asking the question feel like it was a dumb question) and get everyone involved in the answers.