Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Carmen,
I agree with your comment in many ways. I have been teaching for 10 years, but with saying that, many of my "soft skills" had to develop over time. Every group of students is different, and even though I think I have it, sometimes my skills have to be adjusted to fit a certain group the best way. It's a continuous work in progress, that may never be 100% complete (which is fine for me). I find it unfortunate though, that some people, not necessarily students, completely lack having yet even knowing what soft skills are. This is one of the most difficult thing to teach. I also agree that in the classroom, we ARE the role model. We can't expect it if we don't have it.
Amy

Sean,
the attitude of others can make or break a team.
Philip Campbell

Keith,
Listening is important for all of us.
Philip Campbell

I think one of the most important soft skills is the ability to assess and relate to others. I believe this would fall under the EQ area. Being able to talk with someone and effectively listen to what they are saying can go a long way toward understanding their mood and attitude, and can help you know how to respond. Working with instructors and students, it is very important to use EQ and soft skills to help avoid conflict. I can really see how soft skills and EQ relate.

I belief the most important soft skill in my career as an educator has been patience. It is by allowing myself the time to get to know each student and understand what their challenges are that I am able to be most effective.

Allan and Phillip,
I agree that "Common Sense" is a developed skill. However, I also believe that there are opportunities for us to teach this skill or train students to recognize opportunities for growth.