Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Causes of Stress

What are some general areas that you can identify as major stressors in your life/career? Are these stressors based upon logistical (organizational) factors, student needs, or college requirements? Develop a list of your stressors within these general categories or create additional categories based upon your personal needs.

the majority of my stress is due to the fact that i am an adjunct instructor where i teach and attend school as well. i am not paid for my time grading papers, doing faculty development, faculty meeings and i schedule my time away from work in school classes and find that the administrative duties overwhelm me at times, i have inner conflict because i feel like i am essentially working for free alot of the time and it does cause me to stress about it

logistical
my office could be cleaner/neater
my house could be less cluttered

Standards
we have to follow the curriculum given to us yet some of the mterial is outdated

Leigh, That sounds like a tough challenge. When you have to play two roles in the same environment, it can be hard to switch between them. It sounds like you are also not satisfied with your compensation for teaching. You might approach your administration respectfully with these concerns. It can be good to be open and honest about our expectations.

Dr. Melissa Read