Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Increasing Student Retention by Flipping the Classroom | Origin: ED410

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Increasing Student Retention by Flipping the Classroom 

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too

I am a new instructor, learning new teaching techniques and strategies is my main goal for this year. Any feedback on student retention by flipping the classroom? 

I have learned that the flipped classroom concept does not have to be daunting. For those like me who have taught for a while using the traditional techniques, it may seem overwhelming to revamp everything all at once. Most of us have found a rhythm that has worked well for us over time when teaching a particular course. 

However, I now know a more conservative approach can be taken. Instead of delivering the entire course in a flipped classroom style, instructors can take one lesson or one unit and see how the flipped classroom style works first. I believe it's probably the more realistic approach due to the time commitment required to properly plan a solid execution. When done well, it can work, but it takes time. The ability to tweak and improve before a full-scale launch of your course using the flipped classroom concept is activated seems less stressful and a smarter approach.

Like the idea of flipping a lesson at a time to feel out the new style before implementing across the board.  I also imagine there are some lessons and units that may be more favorable to this new style.  I plan to do just that and go from there.  Picking the right lesson will be important.

I will be able to make this work. This is an excellent presentation.