Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

night students

Most of my students work during the day and come to school at night, they are tired and worn out. I try to keep them motivated by keeping the class a fun place to learn, i ask alot of questions keeping them alert. I also have alot of hands on training to keep them busy and awake.

I am a night student myself, and I find that the majority of my peers are more serious about being in class, and are also older on average. What keeps me interested are current event topics and discussions that apply to my life directly. Information I can use immediately is always more valuable to me than learning about something that may not apply to my life at the moment.

It is hard to motivate my night students. As you have said, they are tired from working all day and incidentally I am tired because I too have worked all day. I try to keep things short and to the point as well as getting some class partipation to keep them awake.

While teaching nights for a spell, I found that night students seem to take class more seriously than my day students do. I also found the night sutdents thought process to be deeper.

Choppy, outstanding post and very on point with respect to understanding your students and the overall learning environment. Active learning is a proven method of keeping attention spans longer and getting evening students to participate more versus a lecture format. Well done and thanks for all that you do.

James Jackson

their attention span seems to be shorter also,If I dont stay on top of things they seem to wonder off to space,telling a story of things that have happened in the field gets their attention back on track,especialy if it has to do with something that was funny,morning students most of the time are just tough to keep awake no matter what you do sometimes.