Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Sarah,
What a great tribute it would be to have such a saying on one's gravestone. It says so much about the dedication one has to the field of education. I commend you for your effort to bring this challenging group around. As you say some changed and some did not. It was their loss not to respond to their growth in terms of respect and human interaction.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Everyone wants to feel needed. I feel as an instructor I may be the only one to offer support to my students. They may have no family or friends that are supportive. They may not be my best student but every little improvement or attempt for improvement must be told to the student

Michelle,
As their learning leader you are in a great position to provide support and reinforcement to your students. You may be the first person in their lives that they have had the opportunity to get to know that is in an authority position and thus is able to help them move forward toward their career goals.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

The human factor is, in my opinion the most important factor in student retention. If the student knows that we as an instructor believe they can be successful not only in our class but in life also, this can be the spark that ignites the fire in their life to be a winner.

Bruce,
Key part of our student interaction. They need to know we care about them and their success. They also need to know that we will be supportive of them but they have to put forth the effort needed since it is their future that they are preparing for.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.