Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Joseph,

Do you have the students pick what goes into the portfolio? This can be an important employment package for students.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Melissa,

I like your attitude. It is harder because we really don't wee it working as well. We have started implementing service learning assignments and experiential learning assignments into our online courses. We want students mirroring experiences of f2f courses.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Melissa,

True, and it can be an important tool to measure growth in the student as well as their commitment to life long learning.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

I am an online instructor so observations are out as far as the physical aspect of observing someone. However, I do (as an art instructor) work with students to refine their work for their final graduation portfolio. I also provide both summative and formative feedback about their performance on a daily/regular basis.

As for observing them - I do observe their writing, their habits (do they post on time) and when I see patterns arise, I will follow up with emails or phone calls to see how I can better help them be successful within their course(s).

Terry,

Sounds like you are redefining "observation". You really have great strategies regarding your assessments. The variety assessments services your students well and hopefully you.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

I have used a mixture of all three items in teaching medical students clinical skills. I find them to be highly subjective and can vary depending on the grader. Standardizing grading is of the utmost importance when using these types of assessments.

Unfortunately, this isn't an approach that I've had the opportunity to work with. I can certainly see the value, but since I have no control over the course content, this isn't an option that have been implemented.