Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Robin ,

Great post! You are right, the assessment should reflect the outcomes. To ensure mastery of a subject; multiple assessment must be done. I think we think when we give a test, that we are done. That test may only tell one side of a "story" .

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Hi,
If the majority of the students fail a test, I think as an instructor, I need to go back and reflect on each question that was on the test to make sure it was covered the way it is supposed to. I cannot jump and blame the students for everything neither.
Elizabeth

Elizabeth,

You make a great point. It does surprise me that many instructors see assessments as a one way street pointing to learners. We have responsibility too. Great post!

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

1) How they student work demonstrates mastery of the course objectives and 2) how they student demonstrates their ability to use what was taught.

I am not interested in a student memorizing facts and matching them in a multiple choice environment. I want to see understanding and application to know transfer of learning has taken place.

When conducting summative assessment, the two most important things to consider are: 1) Identify/determine the learning objective(s) and 2) Determine how congruent the formative feedbacks relate to the learning objectives.

Dr. Eileen ,

True as long as it fits the outcomes established in the course.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Augustine,

That is correct. You do have to make sure there is alignment both with the outcomes and to make sure the assessment measures what it should measure

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Hello,

The following items are important to consider when conducting summative assessments:

1. Did the student grasp the section objectives? Was the instructor successful in teaching the students the objectives? It is important that the assessment provide a good review of the material that was covered to ensure that the objectives are fully understood.