Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Engaging Learners

I perceived this being one of the most challenging sessions, but after completing this session I learned some great techniques. I guess I thought this way because I am always in front of an auduience. It is great to know that you can engage your learners without being in their presence by implementing a couples of easy stategies.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, Andrea. Give it a try. Many instructors new to teaching online have had similar concerns raised by some participants in this course; however, after teaching for w while they were able to make a comfortable transition.
Satrohan

I am also new at online teaching. I appreciate the suggestions of learning styles as well. I do teach in the traditional classroom as well and could definitely see the styles mentioned in so many of my students. I am looking forward to seeing it in my online students as well.

My question is-- do you have any other suggestions that were not mentioned in the lesson that new instructors could implement in their online classes?

Hi Crystal, I may have mentioned this before, but I have online students (just as in the on ground environment)write and submit their expectations for the course; then we I cover the learning objectives, I can refer to the expectations for matches(there are always matches), hence the course is somewhat customized - this is great for online students, because the whole online environment is very adaptable to customization and personalization if we use the available technological resources.

Additionally, I have students keep an online learning journal to capture important points, relevances, workplace applications and questions as the course proceeds.

Jay Hollowell
EL102 Guest Facilitator

I taught online and then live classrooms so it was a learning process for me to do live classes.